The onus is on Christians…

A friend forwarded an  e-mail to me today telling me that Madalyn Murray O’Hair is trying to get Christianity taken out of everything, Dr. James Dobson wants us to fight a government Motion and the reason that Touched by an Angel was taken off the air is because it mentioned God. All this crisis… in ONE e-mail!
 
I couldn’t believe it… because none of it was true. My friend had (unwittingly) forwarded one of the many hoax e-mails and urban legends that goes "around the world before truth has had a chance to put its boots on", to quote Hank Hanegraaff.
 
To correct the information in that particular e-mail:
 
– Madalyn Murray O’Hair, indeed one of the foremost atheists of her generation, disappeared in 1995 and her scorched bones were found in 2001. Needless to say, she’s no longer petitioning the FCC to do anything.
 
– The Motion referred to in the e-mail was brought up in 1974 and defeated in 1975.
 
– If CBS, or anyone wanted to take TBA of the air because it mentions God, it wouldn’t have put it ON the air in the first place, and it certainly wouldn’t have let it run 7 seasons! (1994-2003).
 
How do I know all this? Because I looked it up, mostly on the Urban Legends Reference Pages at http://www.snopes.com This, ladies and gentlemen, is THE place on the web to find out what the truth is on the latest rumour or petition request.
 
But more importantly, WHY do I know all this? Because I have to! I’m a Christian, and in this world, Christians have to be twice as accurate as the rest of the world just to be considered half as competent
 
So here’s my advice: whenver someone sends you one of these things, check out Snopes. DO NOT pass it on until you have done this. If it is a hoax, kindly let the person who sent it to you know, so they’ll know better next time as well, and make sure you tell them about Snopes.
 
And by the way, make that a habit: don’t misrepresent people or their religion. If you don’t know what they believe, don’t try telling someone else until you find out. I would expect that same respect from someone of another faith, about me.
 
Because the only problem with Christians, as far as the world is concerned, should be that we’re just too happy all the time, not that that we’re a bunch of gullible hicks, which is what the world currently thinks.
 
So let’s get out there and give them the Truth, the whole Truth and nothing but the Truth! Because I KNOW God will help us with that.
 
This entry was posted in Worldview. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The onus is on Christians…

  1. Jessica says:

    Glad to know there is a place out there to find the truth because I also recieved that email and sent it on to others.

Leave a comment